THURSDAY
August 1, 2019 | doors at 8:30pm
Sharing is Caring
Triple Ds presents:
JACK NAME
Small Reactions | Telemarket
  • $10
  • $10
  • ADVANCE
  • DAY OF SHOW
Jack Name
Jack Name’s genius is the listener can never anticipate his next direction. A change of trajectory is as likely a return to the beginning as it is a sharp upwards spike that pulls one deeper into one’s seat and threatens unconsciousness. Nothing here is concrete or predictable. Songs float, attract, repel, and rebound off each other like pitch black matter. Reminiscent of late-era Can, Bruce Haack, Hans Edler, Solid Space, Dario Argento and VHS tapes.
Small Reactions
Small Reactions play situational pop songs. The quartet is equal parts new wave and post-punk, drone and surf.

Ultimately, however, genres are of little import--the band themselves prefer the term “nerve pop” to describe their music. The phrase comprises the frenetic energy of the late 70s new wavers and Bob Dylan’s shaky foot circa 1965. Sonically, they resemble equal parts “Chairs Missing”-period Wire and early Stereolab. Lyrically, they reside somewhere in the “new domestic” school.

Live shows, played to the absolute tipping point, express a sense of urgency, affectation, and a blur of electric noise. Songs refuse cadence naturally and the band will not stop moving.

They released their debut record "Similar Phantoms" in October 2014 and since have completed work on their sophomore album to be released soon. Other items include 2 7"s, 3 cassette releases, and assorted odds and ends. They tour often.

Atlanta, Georgia is their home.
show-flyer
Thu.8.22.19

Fri.8.23.19

Sat.8.24.19

Mon.8.26.19

Mon.9.2.19

Tue.9.3.19

Thu.9.5.19

Fri.9.6.19

Sun.9.8.19

Mon.9.9.19

Tue.9.10.19