SATURDAY
February 23, 2019 | doors at 9:00pm
Sharing is Caring
Triple Ds presents:
THE UNDERHILL FAMILY ORCHESTRA
She Returns From War | Chick Wallace
Tickets are available at the door
  • $10
  • $10
  • ADVANCE
  • DAY OF SHOW
THE UNDERHILL FAMILY ORCHESTRA
Chick Wallace
The up-and-coming salty girl pop/punk project, Chick Wallace, is bringing a new face and sound to the music scene in Atlanta. Flush with local talent, this four piece includes lead vocalist and rhythm guitar, Melanie, musical virtuoso and drummer Max, Glick on bass, and Josh playing lead guitar. They have recently released a hi-fi EP on Bandcamp, and their dynamic track listing features some unexpectedly thunderous tunes. Influenced by bands like Modest Mouse, this EP combines powerful vocals, similar to that of the Screaming Females, with fast-passed melodies that are reminiscent of Sonic Youth. Tracks like “Blue Like Jazz”, embrace vulnerable lyricism to complement heavy rhythms and cavernous bass—a trademark combination throughout most of the record. The single “Sweetheart” (their first single debut) spices things up a bit with bright, pop-ish chords set against some pretty dark-humored words. This song in particular is more of a fun and narrative style for the group. Bringing a variety of surfy-punk sounds to the table, Chick Wallace is breaking down genre barriers. This emotionally-rich album is incredibly progressive for surf rock, which is something we’re not seeing enough of in the Atlanta scene. Melanie writes fearlessly about the situations in life that we sometimes just can’t let go of, in the hopes that others will be able to recognize and relate. A lot of her influence is drawn from personal experience and the humor and beauty that can be found in each trial and tribulation of the past. So, what to expect in the upcoming year for Chick Wallace? Currently, the band is planning tour dates for 2018, and working on writing a full-length album.
show-flyer
Sat.3.23.19

Mon.3.25.19

Thu.3.28.19

Fri.3.29.19

Sat.3.30.19

Sun.3.31.19

Wed.4.3.19

Thu.4.4.19

Fri.4.5.19

Sat.4.6.19

Sun.4.7.19

Mon.4.8.19

Thu.4.11.19

Fri.4.12.19