TUESDAY
March 21, 2017 | doors at 8:00pm
Sharing is Caring
The Bowery and Terminal West present:
CHICANO BATMAN
79.5 | SadGirl | DJ set by La Choloteca
SOLD OUT
Chicano Batman
Chicano Batman is a four-piece band from Los Angeles, CA. Their sound draws from a spectrum of influences ranging from psychedelia, soul, to Tropicalia. In homage to their favorite classic soul groups, the quartet uniforms their act in tailored suits with ruffled-tuxedo shirts from a thrift store near you.
79.5
From Aug 1, 2016 Issue of The New Yorker:

Disco’s revenge plot may be nearly complete (Justin Timberlake’s unctuous “Can’t Stop the Feeling” aside). The honeyed vocalists, street flautists, and psych guitarists of 79.5, who play Bowery Ballroom on July 30, roused the sound with a 2012 release, “Boogie”/“OOO,” which has been making the rounds ever since. The septet rocks and glints like New York Harbor’s Clipper City schooner—they’ve spent the summer performing from the boat’s deck, on sold-out night cruises from Battery Park to Red Hook. A throbbing new 45, “Terrorize My Heart,” lands on Sept. 16.
SadGirl
On a full moon SadGirl mysteriously surfaced out of the Pacific and staggered onto the streets of LA. Cousins Misha Lindes (guitar/vocals), Paul Caruso (drums) and Dakota Peterson (bass) don't remember much of their childhood (it was submerged at the bottom of the murky sea)

But now, the lo-fi, surf-wop trio is making waves. Proclaimed one of LA's Hardest-Working Bands by Oh My Rockness, SadGirl delivers an iconic, "DIY" package of sound and image, complete with logo and merch designs equally fashionable and punk-rock.

Like a twisted marriage between Roy Orbison and The Cramps (ordained by Link Wray) SadGirl invokes the music of a by-gone era. But don't be fooled, these aren't the tunes from Uncle Jimmy's juke box...
DJ SET BY LA CHOLOTECA
show-flyer
Wed.3.29.17

Thu.3.30.17

Sat.4.1.17

Mon.4.3.17

Wed.4.5.17

Thu.4.6.17

Sat.4.8.17

Sun.4.9.17

Tue.4.11.17

Wed.4.12.17

Fri.4.14.17

Sat.4.15.17

Mon.4.17.17